NAPCE Conference Papers

Every year, NAPCE is proud to offer some of the finest papers delivered at our annual conference. These papers involve cutting edge thought, research, and practical application in the field of Christian education. The following are the presenters scheduled for this year's annual conference, along with their topics, an abstract, and a copy of their papers. Enjoy them before the conference and come ready for some lively discussion as these papers are presented.

Plenary Speaker Papers:

Papers presented by our SPCE 2013 conference pleanry speakers are available below. In general, the papers by the plenary speakers will not be posted until after their plenary presentation. They will be uploaded directly following the plenary presentation. Click on the paper title to download a .pdf copy of the paper. See SPCE 2013 Conference Booklet for day, time, and location of individual pleanry presentations.


Plenary Session #1: (Richard Pratt) - Redesigning Christian Education: We now have the opportunity to provide Christian education to the entire world. What institutional and instructional designs will help us fulfill this service? Thursday Evening, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.

Plenary Session #2: (Richard Pratt) - Redesigning Christian Educators: The opportunities that lie before us will require the personal and professional transformation of Christian educators. What kinds of changes will need to take place in us? Friday Morning, 8:40 – 10:20 a.m.

Plenary Session #3: (Mary Lowe) - Digital Relationships: Remixing the Ecology: This presentation will show us how the digital landscape has revolutionized the theological disciplines and offer practical ways to harness the power of digital and mobile interaction to make digital disciples. Friday Evening, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.

Plenary Session #4: (Steve Lowe) - Spiritual Formation in a Digital Age: Our speaker will present a model for spiritual formation in online instruction that honors biblical insights and theological traditions while harnessing the power Christian social networks to foster Christianformation. Saturday Morning, 9:30 – 10:55 a.m.


Current Research Presentations:

Papers presented at the NAPCE 2013 Conference are listed below in alphabetical order. Click on the paper title to download a .pdf copy of the paper. See SPCE 2013 Conference Booklet for day, time, and location of individual presentations. Click HERE to see a copy of the detailed description for each Current Research Presentation noted below, the day and time that the paper is being given, and the room location


Friday, October 18, 2013: 10:30 – 11:20 a.m.
Saturday, October 19, 2103: 8:30 – 9:20 a.m.

A Method Worth Recovering
Haeyoung Joo (hjjoo@elearning.swbts.edu), Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

A Pedagogical Approach to the Integration of Faith and Learning
Patricia A. Tinkey (patinkey@gcc.edu), Grove City College

A Reflective Response to Nicholas Carr’s book - “The Shallows: What the Internet is Doing to Our Brains”
Gary C. Newton (newtong@crown.edu), Crown College

Absent in Body, Present in Spirit
Russell Haitch (haitcru@bethanyseminary.edu), Bethany Theological Seminary

An Investigation into the Relationship Between Low-Context Online Learning and High-Context Learners
Tim Westbrook (twestbrook@harding.edu), Harding University

Best Practices for Beginning a Flipped Classroom
Kenneth Coley (kcoley@sebts.edu), Bryce Hantla (bhantla@sebts.edu), and Chris Cobb (chris.cobb@ccabulldogs.org)
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

Can Theological Schools Learn?
Eun Hee Yoo (eunhe.eyoo@gmail.com), Chongshin University, S. Korea

Catechesis as the Overarching Framework for Developmental Theory, Part II: Exploring Mystagogy
Benjamin D. Espinoza (bdallasespinoza@gmail.com) & Beverly Johnson-Miller (beverly.johnson-miller@asburyseminary.edu)
Asbury Theological Seminary

Current Trends in Doctoral Education
Evan Hunter (erhunter@scholarleaders.org), ScholarLeaders International
Deborah Colwill (dcolwill@tiu.edu), Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

Curriculum Design and Social Media: 140 Characters at a Time
Dean G. Blevins (dgblevins@nts.edu), Nazarene Theological Seminary

Digital Perspectives for Ministry and Education Abstract
Amy Dolan (amy@lemonlimekids.com), Lemon Lime Kids
Gregory C. Carlson (gcarlson@tiu.edu), Trinity International University

Digital Stories as Identity Reflection and Community Formation
Houston Heflin (Houston.heflin@acu.edu), Kyle Dickson (dicksonk@acu.edu), and Stephen Shewmaker (sbs02a@acu.edu)
Abilene Christian University

Effective Online Teaching and Learning: Laidlaw College gives a South-Pacific Perspective
Michael Hanson (mhanson@laidlaw.ac.nz), Laidlaw College, Auckland, New Zealand

Emerging Kingdom Leaders: A Case Study of Curricular and Co-Curricular Discipleship
Katherine Jeffery (kjeffery@tiu.edu) & Donald Guthrie (dguthrie@tiu.edu)
Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

Eschatological Foundations of Christian Education: How Our Beliefs About Christ’s Return Impact Our Educational Ministry Efforts.
Kevin E. Lawson (Kevin.lawson@biola.edu), Talbot School of Theology, Biola University
James Estep (jestep@lincolnchristian.edu), Lincoln Christian University

Exploring the Spiritually Formative Experiences of Female Seminary Spouses
Benjamin K. Forrest (bkforrest2@liberty.edu) & Fred A. Milacci (fmilacci@liberty.edu)
Liberty University

Factors that Influence Change in Ethnic Identity among First, 1.5, or Second-Generation Adult Christian Immigrants in a Multiethnic Evangelical Congregation in Chicago
Kevin Gushiken (KGushiken@harvardavenue.org), Harvard Avenue Evangelical Free Church

How College Affects Pre-Ministry Students: Exploring the Impact of Institutional Context on Epistemological Development
John David Trentham (jdtrentham@sbts.edu), The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, KY

Interdisciplinary Education within Biblical Theology
Mark Eckel (meckel@lbc.edu), Capital Bible Seminary

iPrincipals: How a California University Educational Leadership Program is Preparing the Next Generation of School Administrators Online
Teri Marcos (tmarcos@apu.edu) & Bill Loose, Azusa Pacific Univ

Is a Pauline Spirituality Still Viable?
Les Hardin (Les.hardin@fcc.edu), Johnson University Florida

Making Room for the Truth: The Epistemology and Practice of Hospitality in the Digital Age Classroom
Michael K. Severe (mcsevere@taylor.edu), Taylor University

Mentoring Emerging Adults
Deborah Colwill (dcolwill@tiu.edu), Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
Mary Lederleitner (mary_lederleitner@wycliffe.net), Wycliffe Global Alliance

Mirror Neurons: The Biology of Community?
Laura Barwegen (Laura.Barwegen@wheaton.edu), Wheaton College

MOOCs:Disruptive Innovation and the Future of Higher Education
James T. Flynn (jamefly@regent.edu), Regent University

Mysteries from History: Contextual Possibilities for Student Spiritual Formation in Online Education
Ronald G. Hannaford (ron.hannaford@biola.edu), Biola University

Nurturing the Infant Soul: The importance of Community and Memories in the Spiritual Formation of Young Children
Shirley K. Morgenthaler (Shirley.Morgenthaler@cuchicago.edu), Jeff Keiser, and Mimi Larson
Concordia University, Chicago

Online Discipleship: Learning Theories and Instructional Practices
Scott D. Edgar (sedgar@apou.net), Azusa Pacific Online University

Overcoming Digital Distance: Developing Relational Disciples in the Electronic Abyss
Chris Shirley (cshirley@swbts.edu), Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Preparing for the Dissertation as Competent Research
Fulfilling Science - The Sequence of Inquiry
Ted W. Ward (twward@comcast.net), Michigan State University & Trinity International University

Resilient Ministry: What Pastors Told Us About Surviving and Thriving
Donald Guthrie (dguthrie@tiu.edu), Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

Teaching in a Digitized Age: Engaging the Media for Worldview Transformation
Kelvin Onongha (onongha@andrews.edu), Andrews University

Teaching Today’s “Digital Native” College Student
Susan E. Payne (sepayne@unwsp.edu), University of Northwestern St. Paul

The Promise of the Classical Christian School Movement
Casey Shutt (casey.shutt@msa-qc.org), Morning Star Academy

Thema (θέμα) and Faith Formation
Jonathan H. Kim (jonathan.kim@biola.edu), Talbot School of Theology-Biola University

The Use of Technology for the Evangelization and Discipleship of the Least Reached
Jennifer Jagerson (jenniferjagerson@yahoo.com), Talbot School of Theology

Who Gives Great Influence to Help Transform Children’s Prayers Into More of a Dialogue?
Youngju Kim (Youngjukim@pcts.ac.kr), Presbyterian College and Theological Seminary, S. Korea